Bilde Bilde Bilde Bilde Bilde Bilde Bilde Bilde Bilde Bilde BildeBilde Bilde Bilde BildeBilde Bilde BildeBilde
Sevilla 2-0 Leganes (Agg 3-1): Montella’s men make it to Copa final

Sevilla 2-0 Leganes (Agg 3-1): Montella’s men make it to Copa final

Sevilla made it to the final of the Copa del Rey as goals from Joaquin Correa and Franco Vazquez saw them defeat Leganes 2-0 to complete a 3-1 aggregate victory in the semi finals.

Dimtris Siovas’ header in the first leg cancelled out Luis Muriel’s first half strike to set up the second leg perfectly at one goal apiece.

Vincenzo Montella chose the same starting eleven as last week for the hosts with Leganes boss Asier Garitano making three changes from the first leg, Diego Rico, Ruben Perez and Javier Eraso replacing Raul Garcia, Gerard Gumbau and Darko Brasanac.

Leganes knew that they had to score at the Ramon Sanchez Pizjuan to go through due to Sevilla’s away goal last week but they fell behind after just 15 minutes.

Luis Muriel showed great feet in the box before cutting the ball back to the unmarked Correa to slam home.

The game itself was very open in the first half with both sides getting forward at every opportunity although chances were at a minimum, Sevilla having the best of them when Sergio Escudero saw his header cleared off the line by Tito.

Pablo Sarabia saw his low drive from distance pushed away by Nereo Champagne in the second half but the majority of the pressure was coming from the visitors as they tried to force the game to extra time.

They made one final roll of the dice by replacing Tito with Martin Mantovani, reverting to a back three and sending the centre back up front as an extra option but that move would come back to haunt Garitano’s men as Sevilla wrapped up the tie.

Sandro collected a long ball from Gabriel Mercado and lobbed the ball over to Vazquez, the forward then bursting into the box before firing the ball high beyond Champagne into the roof of the net to finish off the Lega resistance and send Los Nervionenses into their second final in three seasons.

Sevilla: Rico; Navas, Mercado, Lenglet, Escudero; Nzonzi, Banega (Pizarro, 84); Sarabia (Layun, 74), Correa, Vazquez; Muriel (Sandro, 80)

Leganes: Champagne; Tito (Mantovani, 84), Bustinza, Siovas, Rico; Perez, Eraso (Brasanac, 58); El Zhar, Gabriel, Amrabat (Garcia, 73); Beauvue