Deportivo La Coruna 1-1 Eibar: Ten man hosts hold on to gain point

Deportivo La Coruna 1-1 Eibar: Ten man hosts hold on to gain point

March 3, 2018 Off By Campbell Finlayson

Deportivo La Coruna managed to pick up a point at home to Eibar, despite playing over 50 minutes with a man less than the visitors.

The home side started brightly and had two great chances to open the scoring in the early minutes.

Firstly, Lucas Perez rolled the ball across goal to Florin Andone who looked certain to score from seven yards but he was thwarted by the outstretched Marko Dmitrovic in the Eibar goal. Andone then returned the favour with his pass finding Perez, but the Spaniard’s shot was turned round the post by Dmitrovic.

Eibar made them pay for these mistakes by taking the lead in the 11th minute. Fabian Orellana was set free down the right and his expertly placed cross ball made it all the way to Takashi Inui on the far side who was able to roll the ball into the empty net after it had evaded Maksym Koval.

Perez and Andone would link up again as Depor levelled the game up. Perez’s cross from the right was met by the head of Andone but despite his attempt coming back off the post, the ball bounced off Dmitrovic and into the net as the home side got a much needed piece of luck.

WHY NOT READ:   Real Madrid’s Santiago Bernabeu dream set to become a reality

The action packed first half continued with Koval seeing red for Clarence Seedorf’s men. Raul Albentosa left the ball for his keeper but as he raced out he took a heavy touch and chased after the ball before clattering through Joan Jordan with his studs high on the Eibar midfielder with the keeper sent for an early bath.

The second half was far quieter than the first with neither side able to force a winner. The draw sees Depor move a point closer to Las Palmas and Levante with those two still to play this weekend, Eibar were unable to climb back to seventh and now sit behind Girona following their 2-0 win at Villarreal.

Deportivo La Coruna: Koval; Boveda, Albentosa, Sidnei, Navarro; Borges, Muntari (Krohn-Dehli, 81); Perez, Colak (Martinez, 43), Adrian; Andone (Bakkali, 85)

Eibar: Dmitrovic; Pena, Lomban, Arbilla, Angel; Diop (Kike, 60), Garcia; Orellana (Leon, 27), Jordan, Inui (Alejo, 74); Charles