Bilde Bilde Bilde Bilde Bilde Bilde Bilde Bilde Bilde Bilde BildeBilde Bilde Bilde BildeBilde Bilde BildeBilde
Celta Vigo 1-1 Deportivo: Seedorf’s men score late to deny rivals victory

Celta Vigo 1-1 Deportivo: Seedorf’s men score late to deny rivals victory

Lucas Pérez hit a stoppage-time equaliser to earn Deportivo a respectable point away to Celta Vigo in the Galician derby, and dent their opponent’s aspirations of a top-half La Liga finish.

Striker Maxi Gómez – who featured without injured strike partner Iago Aspas – nudged the home team in front early on, but he and his side were unable to build on the advantage before their local neighbours pounced with three minutes remaining.

Deportivo arrived at Balaídos knowing that only pride was at stake after their confirmed demotion to the second division for next season.

Clarence Seedorf’s team suffered the first setback when Gómez headed into an empty net after outmuscling goalkeeper Rubén Blanco who had made a poor attempt to deal with Pione Sisto’s deflected shot.

The Uruguayan nearly added another goal, but this time Rubén stood strong to block his effort inside the area.

Deportivo reacted through Guilherme’s stunning shot from outside the box, which forced an alert Sergio Álvarez into action.

After the break, Sisto tried his luck from a similar distance but his powerful drive was easily saved.

With ten minutes left to play, substitute midfielder Borja Valle saw his attempt take a slight deflection before being miraculously gathered by Álvarez at his near post.

WHY NOT READ:   Sunday's La Liga: Real Sociedad go level at the top

But as the game entered the final moments, Deportivo found a goal out of nothing, as Florin Andone cushioned a loose ball into the path of Pérez, who was perfectly positioned to smash in from a tight angle inside the box.

Deportivo will face Valencia in their final home game of a disappointing season, while Celta Vigo travel to the capital to play Champions League finalists Real Madrid.

Celta Vigo: Álvarez; Jonny Castro, Sergi Gómez, Cabral, Mallo; Jozabed, Lobotka, Wass (Roncaglia 90’), Sisto, Méndez (Hernández 77’); Gómez (Boyé 63’).

Deportivo: Rubén; Juanfran, Schär, Albentosa, Luísinho; Guilherme, Krohn-Dehli (Andone 75’), Borges, Emre Çolak (Valverde 45’); Adrián López (Valle 61’), Lucas Pérez.