Bilde Bilde Bilde Bilde Bilde Bilde Bilde Bilde Bilde Bilde BildeBilde Bilde Bilde BildeBilde Bilde BildeBilde
Sergio Ramos’ deliberate handball causes controversy

Sergio Ramos’ deliberate handball causes controversy

Real Madrid captain Sergio Ramos could find himself in trouble with UEFA after hinting that he deliberately got himself booked against Ajax on Wednesday evening.

The Spanish international was booked in the 89th minute of Madrid’s 2-1 win over Ajax, meaning he will now miss the second leg and see his disciplinary slate wiped clean.

Following the game, Ramos said to reporters: “Looking at the result, I’d be lying if I said I didn’t force it (the booking).

“It is something I was thinking about during the game.”

Madrid scored two vital away goals against Ajax at the Amsterdam Arena.

The Dutch side proved a tough ask for Santi Solari’s side with Barcelona bound Frenkie De Jong pulling the strings for the home side.

With the game fairly even for the first 45 minutes, Ajax did have themselves in front only for the Nicolas Tagliafico’s goal to be ruled out by VAR.

The home side would rue that decision on the hour mark as Karim Benzema hammered home a superb finish following good work from Vinicius Jr.

Not to be written off, the hosts bounced back though as Hakim Ziyech struck but they failed to hold on to the draw with Marco Asensio coming off the bench to strike late.

WHY NOT READ:   Athletic Bilbao vs Celta Vigo: Both side's looking for different objectives