Spain U21 Squad Announced

Spain U21 Squad Announced

November 3, 2017 Off By Campbell Finlayson

Albert Celades announced his Spain U21 squad on Friday morning for the upcoming UEFA Under 21 European Championship qualifiers against Iceland and Slovakia on the 9th and 14th of November.

Three players; Ivan Villar, Igor Zubeldia and Inigo Cordoba have received their first call up to the squad with many other players being called up after only a handful of caps.

The La Rojita squad is much changed from the side that lost the European Championships final to Germany in June with the likes of Gerard Deulofeu and Marco Asensio no longer eligible.

The first match against Iceland takes place in Murcia with the Slovakia match being held in Cartagena and Celades hopes to get a big crowd to back his players.

Speaking to the press he said, “I hope the number of fans is higher than in the friendly against Denmark in Murcia. We hope there is a great atmosphere as they’re two fundamental matches for us.”

He spoke of some of his most important players too in Dani Ceballos, Jesus Vallejo and Borja Mayoral, saying, “They’re great players with a great level and compete in a top team. Whenever they’ve come here they’ve played well, as part of the team and regardless of their club situation we know they can help.”

Celades was also asked about the Spanish U17 side that lost 5-2 to England in the U17 World Cup in India over the last month.

“We have to congratulate Santi and the entire team for the work they did. We are satisfied and I think they’re a magnificent generation.”

The full squad is as follows:


Unai Simon  (Athletic Bilbao)                                                                 Antonio Sivera   (Alaves)                                                                         Ivan Villar   (Celta Vigo)

WHY NOT READ:   Dream draw for minnows as big guns enter competition - Copa del Rey last-32 draw


Pablo Maffeo   (Girona)                                                                             Aaron Martin   (Espanyol)                                                                       Jorge Mere   (FC Koln)                                                                             Jesus Vallejo   (Real Madrid)                                                               Toni Lato   (Valencia)                                                                             Unai Nunez   (Athletic Bilbao)                                                                     Pol Lirola   (Sassuolo)


Rodri   (Villarreal)                                                                                   Carlos Soler   (Valencia)                                                                       Pablo Fornals   (Villarreal)                                                                     Dani Ceballos   (Real Madrid)                                                             Mikel Oyarzabal   (Real Sociedad)                                                         Igor Zubeldia   (Real Sociedad)                                                                 Fabian   (Real Betis)                                                                         Alfonso Pedraza   (Alaves)

WHY NOT READ:   Gareth Bale's injury problems haunt him at Real Madrid


Borja Mayoral   (Real Madrid)                                                                     Inigo Cordoba   (Athletic Bilbao)                                                             Marc Gual   (Sevilla)