Bilde Bilde Bilde Bilde Bilde Bilde Bilde Bilde Bilde Bilde BildeBilde Bilde Bilde BildeBilde Bilde BildeBilde
Russia 3-3 Spain: Hosts impress with comeback

Russia 3-3 Spain: Hosts impress with comeback

Russia produced a memorable comeback as they drew 3-3 with Spain on Tuesday evening.

Spain boss Julen Lopetegui gave former Liverpool man Suso his international debut after a string of good performances this season for Milan; whilst David de Gea returned in goal and Nacho Fernandez replaced Alvaro Odriozola at right back.

Rodrigo and Marco Asensio provided the fire power up top for the visitors with the latter providing an excellent assist for Jordi Alba, who netted his second goal in as many games.

Moments later and it would be 2-0 as Daler Kuzyaev handled Rodrigo’s effort inside the area and Real Madrid captain Sergio Ramos nestled the resulting spot kick into the back of the net.

Barcelona full-back almost made it 3-0 and bagged a second for himself, before blocking an effort down the other end for the home side.

But, Spain’s resolve and run of five clean sheets came to an end when Fyodor Smolov pulled off a fine bit of play, before beating Manchester United keeper De Gea.

Lopetegui replaced his entire midfield in the second period and it paid as Aleksei Miranchuk levelled the game shortly after the break.

WHY NOT READ:   Real Madrid vs Girona: Los Blancos look to keep on terms with La Liga leaders Barcelona

The goal made for a nervy edge to the game but Spain went back in front through another penalty as Ramos was hauled down in the area.

And, the Madrid centre-back added his second as he beat Lunev from 12 yards.

The World Cup hosts never gave up though and they made the most of substitute Aleksandr Kokorin’s presence as he assisted Smolov, who bagged his second of the game and made it 3-3.

Russia: Lunev; Zhirkov (Kombarov 82), Vasin, Dzhikiya, Kudryashov (Raush 75), Smolnikov (Ignatyev 87); Glushakov, Kuzyaev (Erokhin 62), Dzagoev (Kokorin 62), Aleksey Miranchuk (Anton Miranchuk 67); Smolov

Spain: De Gea; Nacho, Pique, Ramos (Vitolo 58), Alba (Moreno 46); Thiago (Saul 60), Busquets (Silva 58), Iniesta (Illarramendi 46); Suso (Callejon 46), Rodrigo, Asensio